## Council



10 May 2007<sup>1</sup>

## To the Members of the Borough Council

You are summoned to attend the Annual Meeting of the Eastbourne Borough Council to be held at the Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne, on Wednesday 16 May 2007 at 12 Noon to transact the following business:

## **Agenda**

- 1. Election of Mayor.
- 2. Minutes of meeting held on 18 April 2006 (Pages 417 to 424) previously circulated).
- 3. Appointment of Deputy Mayor.
- 4. Vote of thanks to outgoing Mayor and Mayoress.
- 5. Investiture of new Mayoress.
- **6. Mayor's Chaplain –** Notification of appointment.
- 7. Notification of apologies for absence.
- 8. Borough Council Elections held on 3 May 2007.
  - (a) To receive the report of the Returning Officer Report 8(a).
  - **(b)** Welcome to newly elected Councillors:

**Langney Ward:** Councillors Harun Miah and Daniel Purchese

Meads Ward: Councillor Nigel Goodyear

**Old Town Ward:** Councillors Andrew Goodwin, Carolyn Heaps

and Geregory Szanto

**St Anthony's Ward:** Councillor Gill Mattock

Sovereign Ward: Councillors Michael Bloom, Susan Morris and

Margaret Salsbury

**Upperton Ward:** Councillors Alex Hough and Rebecca Madell

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> (This is an updated version of the agenda from that previously published on 8 May 2007 for the purposes of public inspection so as to meet the required 5 clear-day publication deadline).

(c) Return of re-elected Councillors:

**Devonshire Ward:** Councillors Margaret Bannister, Neil Stanley and Steven Wallis

**Hampden Park Ward:** Councillors Mary Pooley, Michael Thompson and Olive Woodall

Langney Ward: Councillor Troy Tester

Meads Ward: Councillors David Elkin and Barry Taylor

Ratton Ward: Councillors Colin Belsey, Barbara Goodall and

Sandie Howlett

C----------

St Anthony's Ward: Councillors Jon Harris and David Tutt

**Upperton Ward:** Councillor Graham Marsden

**(d)** Vote of thanks to outgoing Councillors. The following Councillors were unsuccessful at the elections:-

Councillor:	Service:
Ann Murray	First elected on 5 May 1988 for the Upperton Ward and continued to serve for that ward to the present.
Bob Lacey, OBE	First elected on 7 May 1998 for the Upperton Ward and continued to serve for that ward to the present.
Chris Williams	First elected on 7 June 2001 for the St. Anthony's Ward. Following boundary changes was elected to represent the Sovereign Ward on 2 May 2002 and continued to serve for that ward to the present.
Patrick Warner	First elected on 2 May 2002 for the Sovereign Ward and continued to serve for that ward to the present.
Ian Lucas	First elected on 1 May 2003 for the Old Town Ward and continued to serve for that ward to the present.
Simon Herbert	First elected on 10 June 2004 for the Old Town Ward and continued to serve for that ward to the present.
Anne Angel	First elected on 4 May 2006 for the Old Town Ward and continued to serve for that ward to the present.

- **9. Election of Leader of the Council and Chairman of the Cabinet.** To receive nominations and vote thereon.
- **10. Cabinet arrangements.** To receive from the Leader of the Council the names of those Councillors to serve on the Cabinet and the Councillor to be designated as Deputy Leader of the Council and Deputy Chairman of the Cabinet.
- 11. Establishment of Council committees, appointment of chairmen, deputy chairmen and members to serve on Council committees and appointment of chairman and non-executive directors on boards. To agree the proposed number and allocation of seats, receive nominations and vote thereon.
  - (a) Political balance and allocation of seats. Report of Local Democracy Manager Report 11a.
  - (b) Nominations from Group Leaders Report 11b.
- 12. Programme of meetings for 2007/08 Report 12.

The proposed calendar is as previously approved last November but the meeting start times being changed to 6pm in all cases with the exception of Annual Council and the Joint Staff Committee.

- **13. Delegation of functions To Council committees.** Council to confirm the delegation of functions to its Committees for 2007/08 as set out in its Constitution.
- **14. Appointments to outside and other bodies.** To receive nominations from Group Leaders and vote thereon **Report 14.**
- **15. Motions.** The following motions have been submitted by Members under Council Procedure Rule 13:-
  - (a) Members' Allowances. Motion by Councillor Tutt:-

That the Council, at their Annual Meeting, re-consider the report of the Council's Independent Remuneration Panel dated 12 December 2006 which was previously submitted to Council on 17 January 2007.

That with immediate effect the Council resolves to amend the Members' Allowances Scheme in respect of the Councillors' Basic and Special Responsibility Allowances to specify those provided for under the Council's old scheme and at the amounts paid during the 2006/7 financial year, plus 2.7%.

## (b) Parking. Motion by Councillor Tutt:-

That Eastbourne Borough Council resolves to withdraw all support for the "Pay to Park" scheme planned for Eastbourne. It will immediately inform East Sussex County Council of this decision and request that the scheme is withdrawn. In addition to this action the Council calls upon The Secretary of State for Transport to recognise the fact that the majority of residents in Eastbourne oppose the scheme and requests that he uses his powers to veto the proposals submitted to him by East Sussex County Council.

Marki Rog

**Martin Ray**Chief Executive

 $(der\P:\council\07.05.16\agenda\ final$